“In Christ Alone” recorded by Owl City

 

Owl City

 

As I was looking through my Twitter feed this morning, I saw an interesting post about the song “In Christ Alone” being recorded by Owl City. Now before today, the only thing I knew about Owl City was that my two little girls loved to listen to the song “Fireflies”, and wanted to hear it every morning on the way to school! It’s a great song, but every day…

Well, I was intrigued by the post so I followed it, and sure enough, a beautiful rendition of that tremendous song “In Christ Alone” by Keith Getty and Stuart Townend began to play on Owl City’s blog.  If you haven’t heard it yet, you really should give it a listen, and especially read his comments about why and how he recorded it.

As I read the post from Adam Young, the voice of Owl City, describing how he recorded the song last night, and how much the song moved him, I began to gain a deeper appreciation and curiosity about Adam and his music. I found it very inspiring that he would post this recording, and the personal story of his faith.  So, since I’m on vacation this week, and nothing better to do, I spent some time doing some research.

I discovered some very interesting similarities! I found out that he was from Minnesota, as am I. Owatonna – I wonder if that has anything to do with the name Owl city? Also, through a comment on my Facebook post about the recording, I made another interesting discovery. One of my cousins is related to Adam! So, is a cousin of a cousin your cousin? In this case – no. But, my girls were thrilled to hear that someone they were related to was related to the guy who sings “Fireflies”!! I also learned from Rebecca, my cousin, that Adam also recorded the song “How Deep the Father’s Love For Us”, which I found at Grooveshark.

By the end of the day today, I saw numerous posts about the song around Facebook and Twitter. I read through many of the comments on Adam’s post on his blog, and for the most part, there were so many positive comments from his fans, about how beautiful the recording was, but also applauding him for standing up for his faith. Since Owl City is not a “Christian” band, many of his followers were not professing believers. As always, there were a few negative comments from his readers, some even from Christians. I do wonder why he left out the second verse, but as one reader commented, every verse contains the heart of the gospel. Also, I had a comment on my Facebook post from Joni, the manager for Keith and Kristyn Getty, saying that she was so glad to hear this recording of Keith’s song, and was going to let them know about it!

 

Keith and Kristyn Getty

 

By posting that song today, he took a huge stand and was a tremendous witness to his many followers. I had the sense, though, that he didn’t post it for any reason other than God really used that song to minister to him, and he just had to record it! Thank you, Adam, for following your heart! I guess I won’t mind so much, now, when the girls want to hear “Fireflies” on the way to school tomorrow…

5 thoughts on ““In Christ Alone” recorded by Owl City

  1. He did leave out the second verse, and, despite being asked dozens of times for an explanation, has yet to say why. I wouldn’t jump to any conclusions, but it does seem odd.

    Like

  2. […] “In Christ Alone” recorded by Owl City October 2010 3 comments 3 […]

    Like

  3. I’ve never been described as a ‘manger’ before.

    Like

  4. I had heard from different sources that Adam was a Christian. Of course it ain’t ours to judge but I know some folks who know him and that’s what they told me. So I wasn’t so surprised to hear that he recorded the song.

    Like

Leave a Reply

