Worship Recap – October 31, 2010

Here’s our Sunday Recap from this morning at Bethel.  I actually wasn’t there today because I’ve been on vacation this week, with today being the last day.  But, I’m confident that things went well, given the excellent team of leaders and members that were in place today. I know we had some issues with our livestream today, but it was working for our last service, so I’m looking forward to watching the service later on today to see how things went. This post is part of the Sunday Setlist blog carnival over at The Worship Community where you can read other worship recaps.

Contemporary Service

“You, You Are God” (Walker Beach)

“Matchless” (Aaron Shust)

“Forever Reign” (Jason Ingram and Reuben Morgan)

“Hosanna” (Brooke Fraser)

“Lord Reign in Me” (Brenton Brown)

Thanks to Marv for leading the team this morning! You can watch the livestream of this service and also see the Planning Center details.

Cafe Connection Service

“Did You Feel the Mountains Tremble” (Martin Smith)

“Enough” (Chris Tomlin)

“Glory To God Forever” (Steve Fee and Vicky Beeching)

“Amazing Grace (My Chains Are Gone)” (Chris Tomlin)

Thanks to Adam who led this service this morning, and for the whole Cafe Crew! You can see the Planning Center details for this service.

Traditional Service

“Rise Up, O Church of God”
“At The Name of Jesus”
“My Faith Has Found A Resting Place”
“He Keeps Me Singing”
“A Christian Home”
“Take the Name of Jesus With You”

Thanks to Randy for leading this service! You can see the Planning Center details for this service.

 

Since I was on vacation this morning, I headed over to CrossPointe Community Church in Whitewater this morning for their worship service. I have heard a lot about it, and it’s also another GLBC church.  It was kind of frustrating, though, because I was about 20 minutes late to the service.  It’s a fairly new building, and our GPS and Google Maps couldn’t find the address.  I did miss most of the music (Uggh…), but I expected to miss all of it! The service today was over 2 hours! They only have one service there on a Sunday morning, so they have the freedom to have longer services. With our four services, we’re very confined to a certain time schedule. Even though I got there 20 minutes late, there was still 30 minutes of music left after I got there!

So, there was about an hour of music, then about an hour message. Whitewater is a college town, and they were having a special college emphasis this morning. It was great to hear their worship team (made up entirely of college students) sing “The Stand” (Joel Houston) and one other song I didn’t know. Since there was no copyright info on the screen, I wasn’t able to tell the name of it. I had wanted to connect with the worship pastor there, but the college pastor was leading worship today, and they had a guest speaker, so I wasn’t able to meet him.  It was refreshing to go to the service today, although I was really bummed I missed most of the music.  I was stressed out (for them) about the time, and how long the music was going, which is sad. I realized I’m so consumed with worrying about things going smoothly, even when I’m not in my own church, that I miss out on just worshipping.  If I had known the music was going to go for an hour, I probably would have been able to enjoy it much more. It really got me thinking about our own situation. We really only have time for 4, maybe 5, songs in our 60 minute service. Our structure is also very formal compared to the flow of this service. I have some things to think about. Thanks for reading, and I hope your services went great this morning!!

2 thoughts on “Worship Recap – October 31, 2010

  1. Georgine Rundle

    I sometimes think we miss out on a lot by always having a “formal” service each week. It would be nice to mix it up some!

    Like

Leave a Reply

