“Pure Praise: A Heart-Focused Bible Study on Worship” – Excellent!

I just finished going through a tremendous Bible study on worship entitled “Pure Praise”, written by Dwayne Moore. I’ve heard so much about this book from so many people that I just had to read it for myself. I saw that there was a group of people at The Worship Community, a popular website for worship leaders, who were going to go through the study together online, and I thought that would be a great opportunity to do it, so I signed up and began going through this nine-week study back in November.

One of the main reasons I wanted to go through this study was to see if it would be a good resource to use with our team here at Bethel. I wanted to go through it first, myself, before I led our team through it. Now, after completing it, I know for sure this is something I would like to do with our team. In fact, as we learned on the last day of the study “we are now required to live out what we learned and to tell what we have experienced – through praise that is more pure and more powerful.”

I have come to appreciate Dwayne so much over the last year! I first met Dwayne at the All About Worship Retreat in Kansas City, where he was the main speaker, but I had heard of the impact of this study long before then.  Then, more recently, I registered for an online course taught by Dwayne. His Online Worship Leadership Training Course was such a great learning experience!! And now, having completed this Pure Praise study, I feel like I have grown so much from Dwayne’s teaching!

This 9 week study is written for worship teams to go through together, with special group discussion questions included at the end of each week’s lessons. There are five lessons each week, and each lesson included teaching on worship, a time for daily praise and surrender.  The central passage that this study draws from is found in 2 Chronicles 20, and I found it amazing how much detail Dwayne was able to draw from one passage! Of course, he uses texts from the whole of Scripture to support his teaching. It was amazing to dig deep into God’s Word and see all that He has to say to worship leaders in this area of worship.

This study is perfect for people of all stages in their role as a worship leader, whether it’s for a vocalist, band member, worship tech, the worship leader or pastor.  It starts with general teachings on praise, and then draws you up the mountain of learning to the peak, as you strive deeper and deeper in what it means to be a worshiper and worship leader.  I have been involved with worship ministry for over 18 years, and I learned so much in this study, it was incredible! God used this study to point some things out to me that I have read so many times, but have either overlooked, or looked at in a completely new way! I was challenged daily to surrender all to Him. The week on learning how to hear God’s voice was so powerful! I also really enjoyed the week about style, and the one about how we can have the greatest impact on the congregation through our worship.

Each week was worthwhile, and I’m so looking forward to figuring out how I’m going to take our team through this study. I know I need to!  Thanks, Dwayne, for such an amazing study!!

Leave a Reply

