Sunday Recap – July 17, 2011

Contemporary Services

  • “All My Fountains” (Chris Tomlin, Daniel Carson, Christy Nockels, Nathan Nockels)
  • “Glorified” (Jared Anderson)
  • “Forever Reign” (Jason Ingram, Reuben Morgan)
  • “Everyday” (Joel Houston)

Well, this was the week! We’ve been building up to this week for quite a while, talking about it, preparing for it, anticipating it, and it went great! This was the day we did “All My Fountains” for the first time! Do you ever use anticipation as a tool to build momentum and energy? Everyone practicing something, looking forward to it, getting excited about it? That’s what happened with this song. I’ve known for about a month that we were going to do this song on this day. The guitars worked out which key it would work in (non Tomlin-sphere) (we ended up doing it in the key of B), we practiced the clapping, worked out the harmonies, and more. Zack and Marv did great on the guitar parts! The whole band did awesome, and the singers nailed the vocals and clapping! I didn’t play keyboard on this one hardly at all, which was a nice change.  I’d post a video, but I’m here in Kansas City at the National Worship Leader Conference this week, so every second is planned out. I’ll have to se if I can find some time to edit the video and get it up here this week sometime. The rest of the songs were familiar.

Cafe Connection Service

  • “Now That You’re Near” (Marty Sampson)
  • “Glorified” (Jared Anderson)
  • “Forever Reign” (Jason Ingram, Reuben Morgan)
  • “Everyday” (Joel Houston)
I led the team in the Cafe today, with Zack on percussion, Jake on bass/ukelele and Sue on vocals.  It was a lot of fun! I love playing in the Cafe! (Except I really need to get a second keyboard so I don’t have to haul it between the Cafe and sanctuary for each service!)

Traditional Service

  • “All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name”
  • “The Solid Rock”
  • “At The Cross”
  • “O That Will Be Glory”
Rob led the team in here today, and I always love how creative he is with the transitions! It adds an extra punch! The team did great, from what I heard.
Sorry for the shorter post this week without links, videos, etc.   I’m looking forward to a great week here at the conference, and I’m sure I’m blog more about it throughout the week.
This post is part of the Sunday Setlists blog carnival at The Worship Community.
4 thoughts on “Sunday Recap – July 17, 2011

  1. Hey, I’m curious what comments plugin you’re using.

    Like

  2. Transitions. So important. Even in the traditional service. I’m always getting on to my leaders to not just stop, let 15 seconds of silence go by, then start the next one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

